PLACES SMOKING IS PROHIBITED

Places where smoking is prohibited under **Reg. 11(1) Control of Tobacco Product Regulations 2004 (Amend. 2013)** and enforced by Ministry of Health Malaysia:

- 1. Any entertainment centres except pubs, discotheques, night clubs or casinos;
- 2. Any hospitals or clinics;
- 3. Any public lifts or toilets;
- 4. Any air-conditioned eating places or shops:
- 5. Any public vehicles or public transport terminals;
- 6. Any airports;
- 7. Any government premises;
- 8. Any areas used for any assembly activity in a building other than a private or residential building;

9. <u>Any areas in an educational institution or a higher educational institution;</u>

- 10. Any areas in a nursery;
- 11. Any school buses;
- 12. Any floors with a service counter in the building (any banks or financial institutions, Telekom Malaysia Berhad, Tenaga National Berhad & Pos Malaysia Berhad);
- 13. Any areas in shopping complexes;
- 14. Any areas in a petrol station;
- 15. Any areas in stadiums, sport complexes, fitness centres or gymnasiums;
- 16. Any buildings or public places which are used for religious purposes;
- 17. Any areas in a library;
- 18. Any areas in an internet café;
- 19. Any areas in a place of National Service training;
- 20. Any air-conditioned places of work with a centralised air-conditioning system;
- 21. R & R * (01/12/2014).

Any person who contravenes Reg.11(1) and commits the offence shall on conviction be liable to a fine not exceeding RM10,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 2 years or both.

Under Reg. 12(1), it is the duty of the owner or occupier of a premises listed in Reg. 11(1):

- a) to display a signage on the prohibition of smoking (RM3,000 or 6 months imprisonment); and
- b) to ensure no person smokes on the premises (RM5,000 or 1 year imprisonment.)

For any inquiries, please contact the nearest District Health Office or the Tobacco and Alcohol Enforcement Unit, Sarawak State Health Department 082-473200.



